NATIONAL SANCTIONS SECRETARIAT

Notice under the United Nations (Financial Prohibitions, Arms Embargo and Travel Ban) Sanctions Act 2019

Update of exemption to travel ban imposed by paragraph 1 (b) of resolution 2255 (2015)

Notice is hereby given that on **19 March 2022**, the United Nations Security Council Committee pursuant to resolution 1988 (2011) concerning Afghanistan has **decided to update the exemption to the travel ban** imposed by paragraph 1 (b) of resolution 2255 (2015), for a 90-day period beginning on 21 March 2022 and ending on 20 June 2022 by:

(i) <u>adding two individuals:</u>

- TAi.028 Said Ahmed Shahidkhel
- TAi.038 Abdul Baqi Basir Awal Shah

(ii) removing one individual: and

• TAi.102 Zia Ur-Rahman Madani; and

(iii) maintaining thirteen individuals:

- TAi.024 Abdul Ghani Baradar Abdul Ahmad Turk
- TAi.067 Sher Mohammad Abbas Stanekzai Padshah Khan
- TAi.027 Abdul Salam Hanafi Ali Mardan Oul
- TAi.113 Shahabuddin Delawar
- TAi.007 Abdul Latif Mansur
- TAi.026 Amir Khan Motaqi
- TAi.082 Abdul-Haq Wassiq
- TAi.093 Khairullah Khairkhwah
- TAi.089 Nurullah Nuri
- TAi.023 Fazl Mohammad Mazloom
- TAi.003 Abdul Kabir Mohammad Jan
- TAi.043 Din Mohammad Hanif
- TAi.110 Noor Mohammad Saqib

The Committee has also decided to grant a **limited asset freeze exemption** only for financing exempted travels.

The Chair also noted the following factors and assurances for this particular travel ban and limited asset freeze exemption case:

1. The requested exemption is solely for travel required for participation in peace and stability discussions. The peace and stability discussions are anticipated to occur in a range of countries. Individual itineraries will depend on the location of peace and stability discussions.

2. It remains the responsibility of every UN Member State to implement their UN sanctions obligations, including the countries that host these talks. As such, travel will be reported by the country hosting the peace and stability talks to the Committee within 30 days from

the date of travel.

3. The limited exemption from the asset freeze for the 15 listed individuals will be solely for

expenses incurred in the facilitation of their travel, including with respect to transportation and lodging, by participating UN Member States only. Participating UN Member States will report travel expenses incurred by these listed individuals to the Committee within

30 days from the date of their travel.

4. This request does not include a general asset freeze exemption for the enclosed list of 15

individuals, and the travel ban exemption applies only to the 15 individuals listed above,

not others on the 1988 sanctions list. It remains the responsibility of every UN Member

State to implement their UN sanctions obligations.

The decision of the Committee can also be found on its website:

https://www.un.org/securitycouncil/sanctions/1988/exemptions/travel-exemptions-in-effect

For any query, please contact the National Sanctions Secretariat as follows:

National Sanctions Secretariat Level 7, New Government Centre Port- Louis

Telephone: 201 1264/ 201 1366 Email: nssec@govmu.org

24 March 2022